Blood Brothers

It’s one thing to be called a friend

To be a real one, another

It is a fact some friendships end

But how to tear apart blood brothers?

Can one split a bond of blood?

***

Sealed at birth, at breath, at once?

Or offered over riven palms

Recited like a sacred psalm

To hold in fam’lyhood, two souls

Who can’t revoke, once their hands close

***

-There upon my chair I sat

Musing what I wrought was fine

But “No! Not even close, you hack!”

Said Siri, angered by my lines

“Your iambs lilt, your phrases lack,

***

your sentiments not here should lie,

so everything you’ve typed, take back!

I will repair this.” she did sigh

So with a searchbar, phrase, and tap

My smartphone helped me plagiarize

4 thoughts on “Blood Brothers

  1. The alliteration and assonance here is beautiful: “Sealed at birth, at breath, at once?/ Or offered over riven palms/ Recited like a sacred psalm.” You seem to like to make 8 syllable lines. That’s iambic tetrameter, which is totally fine to do, as I’d have substance over submission to the form. Gorgeous first poem, and witty, light-hearted second.

  2. ahkrapp says:

    Did you write two poems? If so I liked the second better. The first was awesome to. You did really well. Good job Phillis!

  3. I liked how you used two poems.
    I wondered how Siri could reply with such a smart response?? My Siri doesn’t
    I would suggest nothing, this really was a great poem.
    Strong words and phrases: “your iambs lilt, your phrases lack”

Leave a Reply

